Best Fragrance Free Caffeine Eye Cream by Formula
Caffeine is in all seven of these eye creams. Only some listings actually state fragrance-free, and that gap is the whole decision. Here's how the specs and claims stack up, pick by pick.
The best fragrance free caffeine eye cream is the Neutrogena Hydro Boost + Eye Cream, a 0.5 fl oz jar whose own listing title carries the words "Fragrance Free" rather than leaving you to guess. If you'd rather spend less, the Good Molecules Yerba Mate Wake Up Eye Gel is the cheapest of the seven and states fragrance-free too. Most shoppers compare caffeine percentages here. Almost none of these listings publish one. What actually separates these seven is whether the brand commits to unscented in writing, and only three of them do.
Best fragrance free caffeine eye cream at a glance
| Pick | Size | Fragrance-free stated? | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall Neutrogena Hydro Boost + Eye Cream |
0.5 fl oz | Yes, in the title | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Good Molecules Yerba Mate Wake Up Eye Gel |
0.5 fl oz | Yes, in a claim | Check Price |
| Best for heavy use CeraVe Vitamin C Eye Cream |
0.5 fl oz | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best for families The INKEY List Caffeine Eye Cream |
0.5 fl oz | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best compact VELAMO ADVANCED Caffeine Eye Cream |
0.5 oz | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best upgrade BloomPulse Under Eye Cream with Retinol Caffeine Ginseng |
0.5 fl oz | Not stated | Check Price |
| Most versatile Goodness Tone Up Caffeine Eye Cream |
1 oz | Yes, in a claim | Check Price |
How I cut a long shortlist down to seven
Three things got listings cut before I compared anything else.
Caffeine had to appear as a named ingredient in the listing's own copy, not as a category keyword bolted on by a seller. Every one of these seven names it directly. Second, the product had to be an eye treatment sized for the eye area, which is why nothing above 1 oz survived. Third, the listing had to publish enough hard specification data to compare: a size, a form, a container shape. Listings with a name and nothing else are unbuyable for anyone comparing carefully.
What survived is a set of seven that splits neatly into two textures and three price positions.
Here's where I'll be straight with you about the search itself. The phrase "fragrance free" is a filter Amazon applies loosely. Four of these seven say nothing about scent anywhere in the copy I was given. That doesn't mean they're scented; it means nobody has told you. So the screening ended with one more sort: which listings put unscented in writing, and which leave it open. That sort drives the ranking below.
- Caffeine named in the listing copy: all 7
- Sized at 0.5 fl oz: 6 of 7
- Sized at 1 oz: 1 of 7
- Fragrance-free stated in the copy: 3 of 7
- Sold by a single seller: 2 of 7
Which of these listings actually say fragrance free?
Three. That's the honest count, and it's the most useful number in this whole guide.
Neutrogena puts "Fragrance Free" in the product title itself and repeats it in a feature claim, adding that the formula is made without parabens, phthalates or dyes. Good Molecules states fragrance-free alongside cruelty-free and vegan. Goodness states it too, with the line that no fragrance means no irritation near sensitive eyes. That's the shortlist if the word "fragrance-free" is non-negotiable for you.
The other four are quieter. CeraVe's copy leans on ophthalmologist tested and allergy tested, which are different claims about a different thing. The INKEY List says suitable for all skin types including sensitive. VELAMO says dermatologist tested. BloomPulse says nothing about scent at all.
Sensitive means the brand thinks the formula is gentle. Fragrance-free means a specific ingredient class is absent. Those are not interchangeable, and if you react to added scent you need the second claim, not the first. When a listing doesn't state it, check the full ingredient list on the live page before you buy. Look for "parfum" or "fragrance" near the end of the list.
Gel or cream: which texture suits your under-eye?
Two of these seven sit in the gel category and five in creams, and the split matters more than any ingredient list.
Good Molecules is a gel, filed under Eyes > Gels, and the brand describes it as lightweight with no residue and suitable under makeup. Neutrogena is a gel-cream hybrid, described as a gel cream in a jar. The rest are creams. Goodness makes the same under-makeup claim its gel rivals do, saying it absorbs quickly without pilling or sliding.
Gels tend to disappear fast and layer cleanly. Creams sit longer and feel more cushioned, which some people prefer overnight and others find heavy under concealer. If your concealer has ever slid or creased by mid-morning, the texture beneath it is usually the culprit.
- Concealer every day? Start with a gel or a gel-cream. Good Molecules or Neutrogena.
- Dry, tight under-eyes? A cream with ceramides. CeraVe or Goodness.
- Both, at different times of day? A gel in the morning, a cream at night. Two jars, not one.
1. Neutrogena Hydro Boost + Eye Cream — Best overall
The only pick in this set with fragrance-free printed in the product title, backed by a stated free-from list.

Best for: someone who wants fragrance-free stated on the label itself Skip it if: you want a thicker balm-style cream
What separates this from the rest of the set is the paper trail. Neutrogena's own title reads "Fragrance Free", and the feature copy goes further, saying the formula is made without parabens, phthalates and dyes. Nobody else here commits in the title. For a product going on the thinnest skin on your face, that written commitment is worth more than a longer ingredient headline.
The jar holds 0.5 fl oz and weighs 14 g, with a squat 1.9 x 3.75 x 1.9 in footprint that sits flat on a shelf. Neutrogena describes the texture as a gel cream and names hyaluronic acid, caffeine and a peptide complex, saying the peptides target the look of dark circles while caffeine acts as an antioxidant. Directions are simple: a small amount morning and night, massaged gently around a cleansed eye area. It arrived in 2022, so it isn't a brand-new formula, and model NGN10391 makes it easy to confirm you're on the right listing.
The trade-off is cost. This is the most expensive pick of the seven despite a modest 0.5 fl oz size, and only two sellers list it. It also sells more slowly here than CeraVe, INKEY List or Good Molecules, so it isn't the crowd favourite. You're paying for the stated fragrance-free formula and a clean free-from list, not for volume.
Pros:
- Fragrance-free stated in the product title
- Formulated without parabens, phthalates and dyes
- Names caffeine, hyaluronic acid and a peptide complex
- 14 g jar with published dimensions and model number
- Gel-cream texture layers well morning and night
Cons:
- The most expensive pick in this set
- Only 0.5 fl oz for the highest price position here
- Just two sellers stock it
- No published caffeine percentage
- Sells slower than three cheaper picks here
2. Good Molecules Yerba Mate Wake Up Eye Gel — Best budget pick
The cheapest of the seven, and one of only three that states fragrance-free.

Best for: morning depuffing under makeup Skip it if: you want ceramides or retinoids
This is the rare case where the cheapest option doesn't give up the thing you came for. Good Molecules states fragrance-free, along with cruelty-free and vegan, and it's the lowest-priced pick in the set. It's also the one buyers choose most often here by a wide margin.
The formula is a gel rather than a cream, filed under Eyes > Gels, and the brand names yerba mate, caffeine and three forms of hyaluronic acid. The claim is depuffing and a more awake look, with lightweight absorption and no residue, which the brand says makes it usable under makeup. The tube weighs 18.1 g and measures 0.79 x 4.41 x 1.02 in, a flat slim shape that drops into a bag more easily than any jar here. Size is listed at 0.5 fl oz.
Two gaps stand out against the pricier picks. There's no ceramide claim, which CeraVe and Goodness both make, and no retinoid, which VELAMO and BloomPulse both name. If your under-eyes read dry rather than puffy, a gel with no barrier ingredient may not be enough on its own. It's a depuffer first. Layer a moisturiser over it if you need cushioning.
Pros:
- Cheapest pick of the seven
- Fragrance-free, vegan and cruelty-free stated
- Names three forms of hyaluronic acid
- Slim 18.1 g tube travels well
- The one buyers choose most often here
Cons:
- No ceramide claim, unlike two pricier picks
- No retinoid or vitamin C for brightening
- Gel texture may feel thin on dry skin
- No published caffeine percentage
3. CeraVe Vitamin C Eye Cream — Best for heavy use
The only pick here combining stated 5% pure vitamin C, three ceramides and caffeine in one 0.5 fl oz tube.

Best for: contact lens wearers who want brightening plus ceramides Skip it if: vitamin C has stung your eye area before
CeraVe publishes the one active percentage in this entire set: 5% pure vitamin C. Every other listing names ingredients without quantifying them. If you care about knowing how much of something you're getting, this is the only pick that tells you.
The rest of the ingredient story is dense for the size. CeraVe names three ceramides (1, 3 and 6-II), hyaluronic acid, MVE technology and caffeine, with caffeine specifically credited for visible puffiness reduction. The tube weighs 1.13 oz at 0.5 fl oz of product, and the brand says the packaging is built to prevent oxidisation, which matters for vitamin C more than for most actives. Two claims speak to tolerance: ophthalmologist tested and allergy tested, with a note that it suits contact lens wearers. Released in 2024, it's the second-newest formula here.
Here's the honest catch. CeraVe never says fragrance-free in the copy I have, so it doesn't clear the bar Neutrogena, Good Molecules and Goodness clear. Allergy tested is a different claim. It's also the second-most expensive pick, and vitamin C near the eye is a known irritant for some people. Check the live ingredient list first if scent is your dealbreaker.
Pros:
- Only pick with a published active percentage, 5% vitamin C
- Names three ceramides plus hyaluronic acid
- Ophthalmologist tested and allergy tested
- Suitable for contact lens wearers per the listing
- Packaging designed to limit oxidisation
Cons:
- Fragrance-free not stated anywhere in the copy
- Second-most expensive pick here
- Vitamin C can sting sensitive eye-area skin
- Only two sellers list it
4. The INKEY List Caffeine Eye Cream — Best for families
The second-cheapest pick, with a named peptide and a stated suitability for sensitive skin.

Best for: a shared bathroom jar for sensitive skin Skip it if: you need it confirmed unscented before buying
INKEY List names its peptide, which almost nobody in this set does. Matrixyl 3000 appears by name, credited with reducing the appearance of fine lines. Neutrogena says "peptide complex" and BloomPulse says "peptides"; only this listing tells you which one.
It's the second-cheapest pick of the seven, which is what earns it the family label: cheap enough that two or three people sharing one 0.5 fl oz tube doesn't feel wasteful, and stated as suitable for all skin types including sensitive. The tube weighs 1.06 oz, comes in white, and measures 4.76 x 0.83 x 2.28 in, a long flat shape rather than a jar. INKEY List also claims clinically proven improvement in puffiness and dark circles from first use, and describes the feel as lightweight, hydrating and instantly cooling. The listing gives 2026 as the release, and model BEE0007.
The gap is the same one CeraVe has. Sensitive-skin suitability is stated; fragrance-free is not. For a product you're sharing across a household with different tolerances, that's the thing to verify on the live page. There's also no ceramide and no published caffeine level, so it's a simpler formula than the pricier picks.
Pros:
- Second-cheapest pick in this set
- Names its peptide specifically, Matrixyl 3000
- Stated suitable for all skin types including sensitive
- Lightweight, cooling feel per the brand
- Slim 1.06 oz tube rather than a jar
Cons:
- Fragrance-free never stated in the copy
- No ceramides or barrier ingredient named
- Shortest feature list of the seven
- No published caffeine percentage
5. VELAMO ADVANCED Caffeine Eye Cream for Dark Circles — Best compact
The slimmest package here at 2.36 x 0.69 x 0.69 in, with the longest named active list.

Best for: a slim tube that fits a travel pouch Skip it if: you avoid retinoids near the eye
Nothing else in this set packs 0.5 oz into a footprint this small. At 2.36 x 0.69 x 0.69 in, it's a pencil-thin tube, narrower than the INKEY List and a fraction of the Neutrogena jar's shelf space. If you carry eye cream in a small pouch, that geometry is the reason to look.
The active list is the longest of the seven. VELAMO names caffeine for puffiness, niacinamide for dark circles, hydroxypinacolone retinoate (HPR), peptides and bifida ferment filtrate. HPR is a retinoid ester, so this is one of two picks in the set that goes retinoid. The brand also publishes percentage figures for a user study: wrinkle reduction 40.25%, radiance 37.38%, elasticity 10.69%, puffiness reduction 16.36%, over 4 to 8 weeks. Those are the brand's own reported numbers, not independent findings, and I'd read them as marketing rather than measurement. It's dermatologist tested per the listing.
Two real drawbacks. Fragrance-free isn't stated, and this listing publishes the fewest specifications of any pick: no weight, no colour, no model, no release year. Only one seller stocks it, and it's the slowest-selling pick here bar one. Retinoids near the eye also need slow introduction.
Pros:
- Slimmest package here at 0.69 in wide
- Longest named active list of the seven
- Names HPR retinoid, niacinamide and caffeine
- Dermatologist tested per the listing
- Brand publishes its own before-and-after percentages
Cons:
- Fragrance-free not stated anywhere
- Fewest published specs: no weight, model or year
- Only one seller lists it
- Retinoid may irritate sensitive eye-area skin
- Efficacy percentages are the brand's own figures
6. BloomPulse Under Eye Cream with Retinol Caffeine Ginseng — Best upgrade
The only pick with a built-in rollerball applicator for cooling massage.

Best for: cooling massage with a rollerball applicator Skip it if: you want clear published specs
Every other pick here is fingers-only. BloomPulse builds a caffeine eye roller into the tube, and the brand describes it as a cooling massage that delivers hydration with a non-greasy finish. That applicator is the whole reason this pick exists in the set. Massage helps move fluid, and a roller does it without dragging skin the way a fingertip can.
The tube is a 5.1 x 0.8 x 0.8 in wand, the longest shape here and the second slimmest. BloomPulse names retinol, caffeine, ginseng, vegan collagen, peptides and hyaluronic acid, and frames the formula as Korean-inspired eye care. Claims run to dark circles, fine lines and the look of under-eye bags with daily use. It sits in the cheapest price group of the seven despite the applicator, which makes the roller unusually good value if that's what you want.
Now the problems, and they're specification problems. The listing gives size as "70 Fl Oz" in one field and 0.5 fl oz in the title, which is a contradiction you shouldn't have to resolve as a shopper. There's no weight, no model, no colour, no release year. Fragrance-free isn't stated. One seller only. Retinol near the eye also needs easing into, not daily use from day one.
Pros:
- Only pick with a built-in rollerball applicator
- Cooling massage claim for morning depuffing
- Names retinol, ginseng and vegan collagen
- Sits in the cheapest price group here
- Slim 5.1 in wand shape for a bag
Cons:
- Listing size fields contradict each other
- No weight, model, colour or release year published
- Fragrance-free never stated
- Only one seller lists it
- Retinol daily may be too much for sensitive eyes
7. Goodness Tone Up Caffeine Eye Cream — Most versatile
Twice the volume of every other pick at 1 oz, and it states fragrance-free.

Best for: anyone who runs out of eye cream fast Skip it if: you want a widely stocked brand
Six of these picks give you 0.5 fl oz. This one gives you 1 oz, which is double, and it's priced mid-range for the set rather than at the top. Per ounce, that's the strongest volume position here, and it also happens to be one of the three picks that states fragrance-free outright.
The reasoning behind the unscented claim is spelled out too: no fragrance means no irritation near sensitive eyes, and the brand says it suits dry, normal, combination and sensitive skin. The formula names caffeine and coffee seed extract for circulation and depuffing, eyebright extract for dark circles, ceramides for the barrier and hyaluronic acid for hydration. Only CeraVe also names ceramides here, and CeraVe doesn't state fragrance-free. Goodness claims quick absorption with no pilling or sliding under concealer, and suggests morning use to depuff and prep, night use to work while you sleep. The jar is 1.97 x 2.36 x 1.97 in, white, and squat.
The catch is obscurity. This is by far the slowest seller of the seven, so it lacks the track record CeraVe or Good Molecules have. It publishes no weight and no release year either, and a 1 oz jar of eye cream will take months to finish, which raises the question of how the product holds up late in the jar.
Pros:
- 1 oz, double the volume of every other pick
- Fragrance-free stated with reasoning
- Names ceramides plus hyaluronic acid
- Coffee seed extract and eyebright extract named
- Mid-range price for twice the product
Cons:
- Slowest-selling pick of the seven by a wide margin
- No published weight or release year
- Wide jar takes more shelf space
- A 1 oz jar lasts long enough to raise shelf-life questions
- No published caffeine percentage
What more money buys in this set
The gap between the cheapest and most expensive pick here does not buy you more product. It buys documentation.
At the entry positions sit Good Molecules, The INKEY List and BloomPulse. Good Molecules and INKEY List both give you 0.5 fl oz of a named-ingredient formula, and Good Molecules states fragrance-free. BloomPulse throws in a rollerball. None of the three publishes an active percentage.
The mid position belongs to Goodness alone, and it's the best volume deal in the set: 1 oz, ceramides, fragrance-free stated, all for less than four of the picks above it.
The premium positions are CeraVe, VELAMO and Neutrogena. Here's what the money actually gets you. CeraVe publishes 5% vitamin C and three named ceramides, plus ophthalmologist and allergy testing. VELAMO publishes the longest active list and its own efficacy percentages. Neutrogena publishes fragrance-free in the title, a free-from list, a model number and a release year.
So the premium picks aren't more generous with product. They're more specific about what's inside, and CeraVe and Neutrogena are the only two picks here backed by brands with a long paper trail in this category. Whether that specificity is worth the difference depends entirely on whether you've reacted to eye products before.
What the listings do not tell you
Four things are missing across the board, and knowing the gaps stops you overpaying for a claim.
No caffeine percentage, anywhere. Not one of the seven publishes how much caffeine is in the formula. CeraVe quantifies its vitamin C at 5% and stops there. So comparing these picks on caffeine strength is impossible from listing data alone, no matter how confidently any guide claims otherwise.
Ingredient order. Caffeine at the front of an ingredient list and caffeine at the back are different products. That order lives on the live listing image or the packaging, not in the specification fields.
How long a jar lasts. Six picks hold 0.5 fl oz and one holds 1 oz. Nobody states a period-after-opening figure, which matters most for the largest jar and for anything containing vitamin C or a retinoid.
Patch-test guidance. Only Neutrogena publishes usage directions in detail, telling you to apply a small amount morning and night to a cleansed eye area and to keep the carton for cautions. Three of these picks contain a retinoid or vitamin C, and none of the three walks you through introducing it slowly.
The verdict
The Neutrogena Hydro Boost + Eye Cream is the best fragrance free caffeine eye cream here because it's the only pick that puts fragrance-free in the product title and backs it with a stated free-from list covering parabens, phthalates and dyes. Add hyaluronic acid, caffeine and a peptide complex in a 14 g jar with a published model number, and you get the most documented pick in the set.
Two conditions flip that recommendation.
If price is what decides it, buy the Good Molecules Yerba Mate Wake Up Eye Gel instead. It's the cheapest of the seven, it also states fragrance-free, and it names three forms of hyaluronic acid alongside caffeine and yerba mate. It gives up ceramides and any retinoid, but it gives up nothing on the scent question.
If you get through eye cream quickly, the Goodness Tone Up Caffeine Eye Cream is the better buy. It holds 1 oz, double every other pick here, states fragrance-free with reasoning, and names ceramides that Good Molecules doesn't. The trade is a much less established brand.
The runner-up's exact advantage over Neutrogena is simple: Good Molecules delivers the same stated fragrance-free claim for the lowest price in the set. What Neutrogena adds is a longer track record and a fuller free-from list.
FAQ
Is a fragrance free caffeine eye cream worth paying more for?
A fragrance free caffeine eye cream is worth the premium only if scent has irritated your eye area before. The cheapest pick here, Good Molecules at 0.5 fl oz, states fragrance-free just as clearly as the most expensive pick does. You're paying extra with Neutrogena for a fuller free-from list and a longer brand history, not for the unscented claim itself.
Which is better, Neutrogena Hydro Boost or CeraVe Vitamin C?
Better depends on which claim you need. Neutrogena states fragrance-free in its title and lists no parabens, phthalates or dyes. CeraVe publishes 5% pure vitamin C plus three ceramides, is ophthalmologist and allergy tested, and suits contact lens wearers, but never states fragrance-free. Choose Neutrogena for the scent guarantee, CeraVe for quantified actives and barrier support.
How much caffeine is in these eye creams?
How much caffeine is in each formula is not published by any of these seven listings. All seven name caffeine as an ingredient. None gives a percentage. CeraVe is the only pick that quantifies any active at all, stating 5% pure vitamin C. If a specific caffeine strength matters to you, the ingredient panel on the live listing is your only source.
Does the best fragrance free caffeine eye cream work under makeup?
The best fragrance free caffeine eye cream for makeup days is a gel or fast-absorbing cream. Good Molecules describes its gel as lightweight with no residue and suitable under makeup. Goodness claims quick absorption without pilling or sliding under concealer. Neutrogena's gel-cream texture layers well too. Thicker creams sit longer and are more likely to cause concealer to crease.
What is the biggest mistake when buying eye cream?
The biggest mistake is treating "suitable for sensitive skin" as the same claim as fragrance-free. They are different. Four of these seven picks say nothing about scent, and two of those lean on allergy tested or dermatologist tested instead. If added fragrance is your trigger, read the full ingredient list on the live page and look for parfum near the end.
Start with the Neutrogena Hydro Boost + Eye Cream if the unscented claim has to be in writing, and open the ingredient panel on the live listing before you commit either way. That habit costs thirty seconds and saves a jar you can't use. The reason Neutrogena stays the default across this set isn't its ingredient list, which several rivals match or beat on paper. It's that Neutrogena is the only brand here willing to put fragrance-free where you can't miss it, in the title, and then name exactly what else it left out.
Last updated: September 7, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.